## NAACCR Institutional Review Board (IRB) Conference Call Summary October 16, 2009 at 11:30 AM ET and 10:30 AM CT

Present: Cynthia O'Malley, Won Silva, Tara Hylton, John Morgan, Ron Dewar, Jack Finch

NAACCR Staff: Royale Anne Hinds, Betsy Kohler

Absent: John Fulton (Chair), Deirdre Rogers, Suzanne Hornbeck, Linda Muul, Vivien Chen, Will

Athas

## Agenda Items

1. a. A quorum was established for the meeting.

- b. John Fulton was not available for the meeting, so Betsy Kohler and Royale Anne Hinds went through the agenda. Ron Dewar and Cynthia O'Malley are the newest IRB members. Ron is completing Maria Schymura's term through December 31, 2010. Maria had to leave the IRB because of her presidency with NAACCR. Cynthia is completing Susan Carozza's term. Susan had to leave for a new job.
- c. Terms are expiring on December 31, 2009 for John Morgan, Jack Finch, Vivien Chen, and Will Athas. John Morgan and Jack Finch have agreed to continue for another term. Royale Anne will contact Will and Vivien to see if they would like to continue for an additional term.
- 2. No Expedited IRB reviews were completed during the past six months. There is a review pending and another application on its way to the IRB. Tara Hylton and Ron Dewar volunteered to complete a review.
- The annual progress reports section of the agenda shows four projects were completed
  and access to the data file was terminated within the last six months. An additional five
  research projects are still active with annual monitoring being completed within the last
  six months.

## **Upcoming Call Information**

1. The next meeting will be held Friday, April 23, 2010 at 11:30 AM Eastern, 10:30 AM Central, 9:30 AM Mountain, and 8:30am Pacific.

Meeting name: NAACCR IRB

Date: April 23, 2010

Time (Eastern): 11:30am-1:00pm

Leader: John Fulton

Toll free number: 1-877-953-0411

Passcode: 9206148