Press Release

2121 W. White Oaks Drive
Springfield, IL 62704
Phone: (217) 698-0800
Fax: (217) 698-0188



Friday, June 24, 2011
Betsy Kohler, MPH, CTR
Executive Director
Phone: (217) 698-0800, ext. 2

Recognizing Innovation and Dedication in Cancer Control, North American Association of Central Cancer Registries Presents Awards - 6/24/2011

Springfield, Ill., June 24, 2011 – The North American Association of Central Cancer Registries (NAACCR) has presented Xiao-Cheng Wu, MD, MPH, CTR of New Orleans, Louisiana and Gilbert H. Friedell, MD of Lexington, Kentucky with awards for substantive and outstanding contribution to cancer registration at its annual conference in Louisville, KY.

A special award was presented this year to Dr. Gilbert H. Friedell, Director Emeritus of the Kentucky Cancer Registry and the first director of the MarkeyCancerCenter at the University of Kentucky.Dr. Friedell is a nationally recognized leader in the development of community-based cancer control programs and a tireless advocate for providing access to health care in medically underserved areas, particularly in eastern Kentucky.Dr. Friedell was the founder of the Kentucky Cancer Registry in 1984.He was instrumental in the formation of NAACCR in 1986, contributing his vision and energy to the development of a permanent structure for this collaborative enterprise to establish standards and build national cancer surveillance program. NAACCR bestowed its highest honor, the Calum Muir Award for significant lifetime achievement in cancer surveillance to Dr. Friedell in 1996.

“Dr. Friedell’s vision and leadership have helped to establish a population-based cancer surveillance system in both Kentucky and the nation.He is one of the true ‘founding fathers’ of NAACCR and our national cancer surveillance program,” said Dr. Thomas C. Tucker, Director of the Kentucky Cancer Registry and Associate Director of the Markey Cancer Control Program.

Xiao-Cheng Wu, MD, MPH, CTR has earned the Constance L. Percy Award for Distinguished Service. This award was officially announced at the annual North American Association of Central Cancer Registries, Inc. (NAACCR) conference. Dr. Xiao-Cheng Wu was recognized for her championing of registry data for cancer control and research use as exemplified by her leadership of the Data Use and Research Committee (DURC) as well as her commitment to innovative and high quality research. Dr. Wu has published over 40 articles in peer-reviewed journals and served as editor of NAACCR’s Cancer Incidence in North America since 1997, represented NAACCR on the Annual Report to the Nation from 2004 through 2008 and originated the idea of comparing directly coded summary stage to derived summary stage. Dr. Wu is the first person to receive this award two times during her career. Dr. Xiao-Cheng Wu, Associate Director of the Louisiana Tumor Registry, she can always be counted on to give more than 100% and to do so enthusiastically and cheerfully.

The Constance L. Percy Award for Distinguished Service recognizes individuals who have contributed exceptional volunteer service to NAACCR during the past 12 months, or sustained, current, and long-term contributions to the organization. The award was created to honor Constance Lebair Percy, a cancer statistics research pioneer and founding member of the International Association of Cancer Registries. Ms. Percy made substantial contributions to public health during her 53-year career as a health statistician and played an integral role in helping establish the link between smoking and lung cancer.

Established in 1987, NAACCR is a collaborative umbrella organization for cancer registries, governmental agencies, professional organizations, and private groups in North America interested in enhancing the quality and use of cancer registry data. Its goal is to set standards and build consensus for the collection of uniform cancer data across the continent. All state and provincial central cancer registries in the United States and Canada are members.